The Hunger Games (Movie Review)

The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games

I’m really, really losing it at blogging. Argh!

Anyways, here’s a quick review of The Hunger Games of which I caught a sneak preview on Wednesday night courtesy of a friend. For the record, I have not read the books at all and before the movie I’ve not even heard of the franchise which means I’m reviewing the movie based on the strength of what was presented with absolutely no bias.

Plotwise, the movie is pretty simple and on the whole I wish there was more exposition on how the Hunger Games actually maintains the peace. I don’t quite get why teens between the ages of 12 and 18 are picked to battle to the death.

What I liked about the movie was the two main leads; Jennifer Lawrence and Josh Hutcherson who played Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark. The duo had real chemistry and Jennifer Lawrence especially made for a strong character. And of course we have Woody Harrelson (a favourite of mine) in the supporting role of Haysmith their mentor.

What I didn’t like about the movie was the pacing and the actual plot itself doesn’t go anywhere new. There aren’t many surprises in the movie and while it was watchable it could’ve been so much better if the pace was just a little tighter and the action sequences having more action.

I give the Hunger Games a half-starved 2 out of 5. There are better ways to spend with your time i.e. I’ve been reading a tonne of Image Comics’ Invincible by Robert Kirkman after a half-off sale that Comixology had recently. I’m up to Volume 8: My Favorite Martian by the way. Now that’s good writing.

4 thoughts on “The Hunger Games (Movie Review)

Leave a Reply

