Forrest Gump (DVD Review)

Forrest Gump

Forrest Gump

Ah… Forrest Gump is definitely one of my all-time favourites. Watching it again yesterday while I was sick certainly helped me feel a whole lot better in between bouts of sleeping from the cough syrup that I’ve been consuming.

Tom Hanks is perfect as the slow-witted but lovable title character and I must say that Robert Zemeckis has created a true modern classic. What I like most about Forrest Gump is how our hero lives through so many different historical moments in American history. The soundtrack that accompanies the film is a great mix of songs throughout the decades and perfectly matches the tale that Zemeckis weaves for us.

Of special note would be the sequence where Forrest runs long distance for 3 years has special meaning now especially now that I’ve been running for the past 1-and-a-half years. It’s inspiring to watch that bit of the movie and one day I hope to be able to run a full marathon; right now I’m just up to 10km with my very first 16.8km category coming up in end August.

The movie is also filled with great quotes such as “Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get” and “I may not be a smart man but I know what love is” are just some of the lines that make the movie a memorable one. A huge part of me identifies with Forrest Gump and it’s movies like this that inspires me to live out Biblical values to live generously and to continue to cultivate a heart that’s loving & generous.

Anyways, Forrest Gump sits right up there alongside some of my other favourites such as Star Wars and the great thing is that it’s just one standalone movie that can be finished in one sitting. The DVD I picked up came with a 2nd disc that contains some bonus material which I have yet to go through.

I give 1994’s Forrest Gump a box-full of chocolates with a generous 5 out of 5.

5 thoughts on “Forrest Gump (DVD Review)

  1. Pei pa koa is pretty decent cough medicine (from herbal as I remembered),
    great non alcoholic medicine, some western cough medicine are more
    effective, but this is non drowsy.

    You can access info online @
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nin_Jiom_Pei_Pa_Koa
    http://ninjiom.50webs.com/

Leave a Reply

