Others First

Other First?

Other First?

Here’s a little something I read in Leadership Promises (a daily devotional I receive courtesy of John Maxwell’s EQUIP).

Zig Ziglar says, “You can get everything in life you want if you help enough other people get what they want.”  How do you do that?  How can you turn your focus from yourself and start adding value to others?  You can do it by:

  1. Putting others first in your thinking
  2. Finding out what others need
  3. Meeting that need with excellence and generosity

In my experience it’s really tough to put/think of others first especially when there’ve been lots of times when I’ve given till it hurts. It’s especially painful when everything we do is unappreciated by the very people we do them for. Nevertheless that’s not the main reason why I do what I do. After reading the Bible all these years it just makes sense to live life with others in mind; being focused on self alone is a terrible way to live life in my opinion.

I can’t say I’ve figured it all out but I’m thankful that God has laid some foundations in my life that help me to think a little bit more of others rather than myself. It ain’t easy but I suppose it’s worth it at the end of the day.

We love because He first loved us and we give because He first gave to us. Amen?

Leave a Reply

