Mutants vs. Pandas (A Back to Back Movie Review)

Kung Fu Panda 2

Kung Fu Panda 2

Po the Panda kicks Professor Charles Xavier’s band of merry mutants a notch this summer. I caught both X-Men: First Class and Kung Fu Panda 2 this week and I really liked the latter a whole lot more. Both movies were decent but Kung Fu Panda 2 was a whole lot more entertaining and left me in stitches last Tuesday.

Jack Black’s a hoot as Po and the makers have really outdone themselves. Kung Fu Panda was good but the sequel is way better. It has the 3 things that I always look for in most of the movies that make the cut:

  1. It was funny.
  2. It had some life lessons.
  3. It had great characters.

I give a hilarious 5 out of 5 to Kung Fu Panda 2 and I think it’d be great in 3D. Maybe I’ll go catch it again if I have some spare time or if I have friends who haven’t yet seen it to go with.

X-Men: First Class

X-Men: First Class

X-Men: First Class is a decent watch. Michael Fassbender as expected was excellent in the role of Magneto and the movie does serve as a lead up to the older X-Men movies; which isn’t a surprise seeing as how Bryan Singer had a part to play in the making of this movie. James McAvoy on the other hand wasn’t that great as a much younger Professor X but then again that’s probably me having a different vision of Xavier from the comic books.

The Cuban Missile Crisis would have made for a great story but somehow the plot failed to deliver. Thankfully January Jones serves as great eye candy as the super sexy Emma Frost (whom I really love in her current comic book incarnation).

January Jones as Emma Frost

January Jones as Emma Frost

X-Men: First Class would kinda disappoint fans of the comic books but then again I’ve got Iron Man as the standard bearer when it comes to comic book flicks. I give X-Men: First Class a so-so 3 out of 5.

Up next: Green Lantern!

2 thoughts on “Mutants vs. Pandas (A Back to Back Movie Review)

Leave a Reply

