Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (Movie Review)

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

Replacing Gore Verbinski at the helm is Rob Marshall who IMHO has done a great job to bring Captain Jack Sparrow back to the big screen in the 4th instalment of the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise. The movie picks up from At World’s End with Captain Jack Sparrow in search of the fabled Fountain of Youth.

On Stranger Tides is huge step up from the last movie and I enjoyed it tremendously. There was just enough reworked mythology to make this foray a welcome one. The cast is just as interesting this time around and it’s great to see Blackbeard come to life in the capable hands of Ian McShane. As always, the world of Pirates has a supernatural slant to it and theĀ  makers interpretation of the Queen Anne’s Revenge (Blackbeard’s galleon) is an interesting one.

As always, Johnny Depp is perfect as Jack Sparrow and he’s the main reason why I like the series. Kevin McNally’s Gibbs complement’s Depp’s Sparrow and I can’t imagine a Pirates movie without the both of them. Penelope Cruz isn’t too bad which is a good thing cos’ I don’t think anyone should overshadow the more important members of the cast (Geoffrey Rush’s Barbossa included).

If you’re planning to watch the 3D version of the movie; DON’T! The only reason I watched it in 3D was cos’ I couldn’t get tickets yesterday. I personally feel 3D works a whole lot better for animated flicks so my take on 3D is quite clear I guess. Perhaps the next instalment of Transformers will change my mind.

I give Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides a solid 3 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

