Eyes on the Road

If all you can see is just the road...

If all you can see is just the road...

“Keep your eyes on the road boy” and so the mantra goes in my head in every step that I take.

One of the things that I’ve noticed about running is that I tend to run with my eyes on the road and more than half the time I’m mentally measuring my steps. I could be running past a beautiful sunset and I’d miss out on it which is very uncool.

... sometimes all you gotta do is just look up

... sometimes all you gotta do is just look up

Life turns out to be like that sometimes. Our eyes are so focused on the task at hand and all our problems that we fail to look up and realise that there’s that beautiful sunset that’s before us. It pays to time out to enjoy what we have already. Challenges will still get us down but there’s always something good to look forward to. All we need to do is look up and receive the  good things He has for each one of us daily.

Get your eyes off the track and look up. Maybe you’ll see something that was always there all along. In the meantime I’ve gotta learn how to enjoy my morning runs more by looking around me more.

Oh! Wish me luck cos’ I’m running my very first 21km run at next weekend’s Energizer Night Run. I’m not feeling very confident as my pace as been pretty slow and the furthest I’ve run so far in these 2 months has been 7km. If I finish this run it’d be the furthest I’ve ever run in my entire life… I hope my legs hold out. 😉

Till next time. Vaya con dios amigos.

Leave a Reply

