March 2011 Movie Round-up (Movie Review)

Hey hey everyone,

I’ve been behind on my movie reviews so here’s a quick round-up of all the movies I’ve caught in my birth-month of March!

Rango

Rango

Rango was a pretty good watch! I didn’t like the art-style when I first caught the trailer but I’m glad I caught this one with my colleagues cos’ it definitely surprised me. The script and the plot was smartly-written story and Johnny Depp is a hoot as the title character. The movie’s on its final leg at the cinemas so don’t miss it. I give Rango a 5 out of 5.

World Invasion: Battle Los Angeles

World Invasion: Battle Los Angeles

The special effects are amazing in this one and I was pleasantly surprised to find Aaron Eckhart in the lead role. It’s standard cinema fare with the U.S. Marines winning the day with predictable American bravado. If you go in with no expectations on a good story but are looking for action then World Invasion: Battle Los Angeles is the movie for you. I give it a 2 out of 5 just for being entertaining and action-packed at the very least.

Unknown

Unknown

Liam Neeson’s latest movie is not too bad but the ending turned out to be quite predictable. I figured out stuff by one-third into the movie (which I usually try not to do). I’ve always liked Liam Neeson so I’m kind biased. It’s a not too bad tale and some of the supporting characters are pretty cool. Look out for the retired ex-Nazi spy cos’ he’s my favourite character. I give Unknown a decent 3 out of 5.

Sucker Punch

Sucker Punch

Visually-stunning but other than that Sucker Punch doesn’t have much going for it. The plot’s just a skeleton from which Zack Snyder pushes fantastical scene after fantastical scene. The women are HOT but other than that there ain’t much going for this one. It’s worth a watch in the cinema but watch it just for it’s visual beauty and you’ll do fine. I give Sucker Punch a 2 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

