The Fighter (Movie Review)

The Fighter

The Fighter

Awesome. That just about describes Christian Bale’s Academy Award winning role as Dicky Eklund in 2010’s The Fighter. My brother managed to score 4 preview screening passes and I’m really thankful that I decided to catch the movie tonight. Bale outshines Mark Wahlberg’s Micky Ward in every scene he’s in and he definitely deserves his win at this year’s Oscars. Bale’s portrayal of Dicky Eklund’s crack addiction just drew the audience deeper into the tale.

I honestly wouldn’t have thought to catch The Fighter if not for the free passes and I found myself sucked into the tale of two brothers battling their way through the tough hand dealt to them in order to make something of themselves. I’m not one for violent sports like boxing but I found myself gasping and cheering during the fight scenes. Sure, it was just a movie but it all felt so real and I think the entire crew did a great job at capturing what it’s like to be in the boxing ring.

The cinematography has a gritty feel to it and treatment the makers gave the visuals really made the whole movie feel like it was the 80’s all over again. The Fighter is a gripping drama made even stronger by the solid cast of Mark Wahlberg, Christian Bale and Amy Adams. Melissa Leo also deserves a special mention as Bale & Wahlberg’s mom in the film.

Don’t miss The Fighter cos’ it’s a great film that tells (what I hope) is a true account of how we can overcome the struggles that life throws at us. I give The Fighter a surprising (for me) 5 out of 5. Next up in a couple of weeks: Zack Snyder’s Sucker Punch.

Leave a Reply

