True Grit (Movie Review)

True Grit

True Grit

This year’s Academy Award nominated True Grit is probably the last movie I would decide to watch but seeing as how there’s not much in the local circuit this time round; I caught it today at 1:45pm and was pleasantly surprised by it. Hailee Steinfeld deserves the Oscar nomination she has for the role of Mattie Ross; the spunky kid who seeks to avenge the death of her father.

Jeff Bridges is in top form here as the tough as nails Rooster Cogburn and I must say that after a disappointing appearance in Tron: Legacy; I’m reminded why I’ve always liked him. On the whole, the story is a simple one but it’s the way the tale is told that makes True Grit a good watch. You can’t help but be sucked into the story as Mattie begins to bond with U.S. Marshal Cogburn. Fortunately the movie doesn’t take too dark a turn and remains pretty light despite the main theme of revenge. Matt Damon brings some comic relief as Texas Ranger LaBoeuf; you’ll have to see it to know what I mean. Somehow I wouldn’t have pegged True Grit to have any humour in it but with Matt Damon’s character it just works.

Josh Brolin doesn’t make much of an appearance here and despite being the object of Mattie’s revenge, I find Barry Pepper’s character to be a more intriguing one. No spoilers here as usual. The movie’s paced pretty well with some beautiful cinematography of what I deem to be the American wilderness. True Grit has 10 Oscar nominations so I suppose if you’re a follower of award-winning movies then give this one a spin to find out why it has that many nominations.

I give True Grit a strong 4 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

