Dead Space 2 (Video Game Review)

Dead Space 2

Dead Space 2

Yep yep… just finished this courtesy of my colleague Ah Sai who loaned me his copy to play over the Chinese New Year hols and I finished the game in just under 10 hours I think. Dead Space 2 is not too long a game and while I enjoyed it I really liked the first game a lot more. I’ve not been playing my PS3 in awhile as I’ve sorta lost the taste for a lot of things in light of some personal issues.

It seems at times like I’m dead-walking through life much like Isaac Clarke here except that he gets to take out his pent up emotions by dismembering necromorphs… heh! I am however playing through the game at a higher difficulty which means I must be getting some flavour for some of my childish hobbies after trying too hard to be grown-up (doesn’t mean that I’ve stopped working on maturing mind you).

Anyways, I’m digressing, Dead Space 2 picks up a couple of years after the events of the first game and it’s great seeing Isaac Clarke again. Clarke’s hallucinating a lot this time round and is joined by a new cast of characters. The alien necromorphs are back again but this time there’s not much exploring to do as Clarke’s adventure goes on a guided path with little room for exploration unlike the first game. The game takes you on a somewhat on-rails kinda path that leads from Point A all the way to Point B in each Chapter.

There are a variety of weapons to choose from but as ammo can be scarce you’ll end up using the Plasma Cutter a whole lot to take out your enemies. The game essentially is a lot more of the same from the original so there’s plenty to kill. Dead Space 2 has the requisite scare moments and while the story explores Clarke’s fragile psyche a little I think they could’ve done  a lot more with that especially in the way he resolves his guilt over his girlfriend Nicole’s death in the previous game.

The graphics are in glorious 1080p unlike its predecessor and I guess if you liked Dead Space, you’ll most likely love Dead Space 2. My colleague Marauderz pokes a lot of holds at the story and the logic behind the ammo limitations in the game but I don’t really care cos’ the Dead Space series has a nice mix of action and RPG-like elements which I enjoy in video games.

The verdict? I give Dead Space a decent 3 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

