The Hope of Glory

Aragorn

Aragorn

“Thus came Aragorn son of Arathorn, Elessar. Isildur’s heir, out of the Paths of Dead, borne upon a wind from the Sea to the kingdom of Gondor; the mirth of of the Rohirrim was a torrent of laughter and a flashing of swords, and the joy and wonder of the City was a music of trumpets and a ringing of bells.”

Waking the Dead

Waking the Dead

In recent weeks I’ve been finding myself urged on by a sense that there is great worth in me that I cannot yet see. I’ve been re-reading “Waking the Dead” by John Eldredge and I am shocked that I’ve let all the cares of this world rob me of a heart that’s truly alive. Like Aragorn, I think many of us have placed ourselves in a place where we don’t believe the truth of who we are. Our worth is hidden and we think ourselves plain Rangers of the North when God’s original design for us was perfection in His image.

Isildur’s Heir remained hidden for years and he could only reclaim his kingship the day he let go of his past & the sins of his forebears. Like Aragorn, we too remain trapped by sins of our past at times. Like Aragorn, we too have the Hope of Glory in us that is brighter than the noon day sun. How much of it is diminished by our stubbornness as we cling to what we think we want. Our sight blinded by what we see before us; eternity veiled.

The Bible tells us time and time again that we are a new creation in Christ and that He has made all things new. Adventure awaits us but are we ready to grasp hold of it? Are we willing to step forward and truly believe? That’s a question that I ask myself after in the midst of difficult circumstances. Belief. Faith. Two things that give us hope for the future.

Do we truly believe?

Leave a Reply

