Lighter than Light: 3 Keys to Finding True Rest

Light as a Feather

Light as a Feather

It’s 2:10am now and my team and I are putting the final touches for a User Acceptance Test for a big big client. I’m waiting for my super colleague Windy to fix-up some code for Twitter that’s still not working on IE7 & IE8 so I decided to just put word to thought for a revelation that I had this morning.

As I talked to God in the wee hours of this morning I felt Him impress Matthew 11:28 on my heart. In obedience I looked up the passage; so here is my favourite version of the 3 verses from the New King James Version of the Bible:

Matthew 11:28-30
Come to Me, all you who labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.

As I meditated on the passage I felt lighter because of the promise that Jesus has taken so much upon Himself that we might have rest. But more than that it dawned upon me that I get stressed out often because I take on more than God intends for me. What is the key to finding true rest? Here are 3 things that hit me hard this morning:

  • True rest is found in doing God’s Will; hence the Jesus asking us to take His yoke upon ourselves. How can a yoke be rest? I’m thinking that a yoke need not be a burden if we’re being driven in the correct direction yes?
  • God’s Will often is not about how much we can do for Him but rather being obedient to do the right things. I suspect that God doesn’t really intend for us to take up so much which is what He tells us through Jesus’ words that His yoke is easy & His burden is light.
  • How can I know God’s Will unless I listen? Listening is an art and often times I realise that my mind’s a cacophony of thoughts & emotions that it’s impossible to hear Him. I’m still learning how to quiet down and I’m thankful for being able to hear the Holy Spirit’s voice in reminding me of Matthew 11:28 this morning.

It’s something to think about and I wish all of you true rest in the God that loves you very, very much.

Till next time. Vaya con dios amigos.

One thought on “Lighter than Light: 3 Keys to Finding True Rest

Leave a Reply

