Functional Strength

Carrying Them Groceries

Carrying Them Groceries

Functional strength. What is it? I just learnt the term a couple of months ago from a bud in Singapore and I’ve been learning to do simple exercises to help build strength that I can use day to day. Here are a few things you can do daily to build functional strength:

  • Take the stairs instead of an elevator or lift – I’m trying to walk up the 17 flights of steps up to my condo unit. Boy, it’s quite a workout.
  • Park wherever and whenever and just walk.
  • Instead of using a trolley, why not just carry your groceries in your arms.

The whole idea of building functional strength is to keep yourself conditioned physically so you’ll be able to have more energy for day to day living. It’s good stuff. If you think walking up 17 flights of stairs is easy, think again. Ha ha! I’ve been running for the past 10 months and that short walk up still took the wind out of me.

Give it a try!

2 thoughts on “Functional Strength

    • Heh… I haven’t tried the 17 flights of steps in awhile. Will have have a go this week. Maybe tonight… heh. But I got my guitar with me. More functional strength for me? 😉

Leave a Reply

