Hitting the Road, Running the Distance

Hitting the Road

Hitting the Road

After 7 months of doing my best to keep a regular exercise routine I’ve finally started running for real and… boy, it’s a big change from running on a treadmill. I wouldn’t have embarked on it on my own but was forced to because the treadmills are always FULL! I’m glad though cos’ this would prepare me to take part in a proper run one of these days.

Nevertheless, it’s an experience in itself and since I don’t have any “canggih” equipment to measure distance or pace anymore I’ve been running the old-fashioned way by counting laps. There’s a small “park” in my condo that surrounds the pool so what I’ve been doing is running laps on the pathway that circles the pool. I started off with being able to do 5 laps and now I’m up to 7 laps at a constant run. I’ll slowly up that.

Here’s what my routine is like right now every time I run:

  • A burst of running that I’ll up as time goes by (am up to 7 laps now)
  • 1 lap at a brisk walk
  • 2 laps at a run
  • And so on…

I alternate the laps of brisk walking and runs and this morning did 20 laps all in all (7, 1, 2, 1, 2, 1, 2, 1, 2, 1). I don’t know if what I’m doing is effective but I figure since my goal is to be able to do more laps in one sitting then by upping the laps over time I should be able to build up my overall stamina. That part isn’t rocket science.

Anyways, the good news is that I now weigh 76kg which is great news for me. That’s a 5kilo drop from my original weight of 81kg. I hope to be able to lose another 2kilos in the next month or so and am targeting to reach a better weight of 72kg in the next 2 to 3 months through exercise and also through more discipline in my diet.

Wish me luck and I hope this post encourages some of you who have been procastinating about exercise to start something small today!

P.S. I was told that I was doing my push-ups wrong so I changed the way I’m doing it today and only managed 30 push-ups this morning. Does anyone have any tips on this (or maybe I should Google up push-ups)?

4 thoughts on “Hitting the Road, Running the Distance

  1. You aren’t doing push ups on your knees are you?

    Anyways you just need to keep your legs straight, go down until your nose almost touches the ground then back up again.

    Pause for a second or two at the bottom.

    Your arms should be parallel to your body, or at most at a 45 degree angle (when viewed from above).

Leave a Reply

