What It’s All About

The Love Guru

The Love Guru

I’ve been waking up early a lot in the past few years and I’m constantly drawn to God’s Word as the answer to a lot of things in life. The funny thing is that even though I’ve been reading the Bible for years, there’s still so much to glean from the Word even on repeat.

What is the Bible all about really? Is it a guidebook to life? “The  Love Guru” sums it up some with the following acronym:

B.I.B.L.E. – Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth.

Whilst I do agree whole-heartedly that the Bible is a book of instruction I think we’re missing the point here. Every word, every passage & very thought in the Bible has one focus and that focus is the Living God. Everywhere I turn in the Bible brings me back to Him and we cannot read the Word of God without first realising that that the centrality of the Bible is God. He is the be all and end all. The beginning and the end.

The thought that we won’t know who we are anymore scares us because I think deep down inside we are all fearful of losing ourselves in the Presence of such an awesome God. There was a time when I was very afraid that I’ll not be me anymore should I allow God to change me on the inside; that I’ll lose my freedom & my personality should I give Him access to my all. I’ve come to realise the truth. That God doesn’t wanna “change” us so much as He wants to infuse us with His Presence. Change is inevitable… but I think an infusion does so much more because it takes the parts of us that are good; enhances them further whilst the bits that are not good gets permeated with more of God. And that is where “change” occurs; after all don’t we all want to be better people for our loved ones and also for ourselves?

Think about it.

2 thoughts on “What It’s All About

  1. God allows you to be more fully you, without the bad bits.

    Like exercise might change you superficially (ie weight loss) but it doesn’t change YOU, you just become a more capable (of running longer) YOU!

Leave a Reply

