Ni no Kuni

The gorgeous world of Ni No Kuni

The gorgeous world of Ni No Kuni

Hayao Miyazaki’s a genius! I just recently spent a weekend re-watching “My Neighbour Totoro”, “Spirited Away” and “Princess Mononoke” which got me thinking about Ni no Kuni, a game that is currently being developed by Level-5 (the makers of Dragon Quest VIII, Rogue Galaxy & the recent White Knight Chronicles). Based on what I’ve seen so far. I’m like… Wow. Ni no Kuni is one beautiful game and the best part of it is that it features character designs and animated sequences by Studio Ghibli themselves.

The main protagonist Oliver & his magical friend

The main protagonist Oliver & his magical friend

The Nintendo DS is definitely the best platform for RPGs right now and there’s a tonne of stuff to play; which is great! I am so looking forward to Ni no Kuni and am currently waiting for my copy of Dragon Quest IX which my colleague helped order off Play-Asia. If Ni no Kuni has the same charm as a Studio Ghibli movie then I’m pretty sure the game’ll be a hit in Japan. It’ll be a welcome addition to my small but solid library of DS games.

The beautiful world of Ni no Kuni

The beautiful world of Ni no Kuni

For more on Ni no Kuni check out the Japanese trailer that was released at TGS o9′.

Leave a Reply

