How Do You Mend A Broken Run?

Running, Running!

Running, Running!

I’ve been getting back into running again after suffering a weird stretch with my back having some pains but the good news is I’m back! The bad news is that I can’t push myself to run a constant 7kph as I used to do before my back pains. I can only manage about 20minutes plus at that speed before having to dial down to a 5kph walk. Just one month of inactivity caused a 30% drop in my performance… wow! I’ve got a lot to work on to get back up to speed! Gaaaaaargh!

As I thought about my physical state this morning I realise that  the same goes for our spiritual health. Most of us may think we’re OK but the more time we spend away and out of God, the further we fall away. I truly believe our physical state of being reflects what the spiritual realm is like and if only 1 month of inactivity caused such a huge drop in my stamina; can you imagine what months or maybe years of inactivity would do to our spiritual beings? For some of us it’d be even more.

The worst part is that God is always there waiting, maybe even pining for us and He reaches out to us unceasingly and never gives up. He always hopes and I’m thankful that we a Father in Heaven who loves us so. I can identify with that cos’ I understand fully what it’s like to be in love and to pine for that person to love you back. I think if we were to take our feelings & experiences in love and multiply that by infinity; that’s probably the closest measure to picture God’s love for us.

Just some food for thought. Here’s little something from the Bible that I believe gives us a picture of what God’s love is like.

Love is patient, love is kind.
It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.
It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.
Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.
It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
Love never fails.
1 Corinthians 13:4-8
In the meantime, keep the faith and I’ll keep on running (and fixing my broken run).
Leave a Reply

