The Great Bario Adventure

Serene & Beautiful Bario

Serene & Beautiful Bario

I’m back!

I know, I know… I’ve not blogged in weeks but better late than never right? Last week was an awesome one as I spent 6 wonderful days in the Bario Highlands in Sarawak with a mixed team of people made up of multiple denominations. I was thoroughly blessed to be a part of the team and I’m thankful for the opportunity that we all had to serve at the KEC Youth Camp.

Picturesque yes?

Picturesque yes?

The Twin Otter Plane that got us to Bario from Miri

The Twin Otter Plane that got us to Bario from Miri

Here are some highlights of my Bario Adventure:

  • Peace. I enjoyed God’s Presence immensely and throughout the trip my heart was at rest. It was great being able to wake up in beautiful surroundings and to taste the cold mountain air in my lungs.
  • The people. The Kelabits welcomed us all whole-heartedly and were so generous with us in their giving. Rooms and entire living spaces were given up for that entire week to house all of us (including the Miri kids). Bags and bags of rice and produce were also generously given to us for all our meals. Thank you to everyone who cooked and just made all of us feel so at home.
  • Prayer. The awesome-est thing was discovering that the people meet every morning at 5.30am to pray! They pray for all kinds of stuff and the most touching thing to hear about was their prayer for all of us here in Semenanjung. I’m inspired by their fervent & long-standing commitment to prayer in the early hours of the morning. I’m thankful to that I was able to join them twice to pray with them in our time there.
  • God’s touch. It was a humbling thing to see the Holy Spirit working amongst the kids throughout the camp. I’m thankful that I got to be a part of the whole thing. Taking one whole week off from work was worth it and although it felt like a great sacrifice to leave work during this crucial time I’m glad that I took this opportunity to serve. God knew I needed the time away from work and I’m thankful for His touch on my own life in the quiet of the Bario Highlands.
  • Good fun & laughter! Being with the kids was fun. I really loved the team of kids I was assigned to and they made me laugh almost all the time. I’m especially proud of them because they came up with such a funny skit that had me in stitches. They were a blessing to me and I’m grateful for the sincere friendship that was extended to me even though I’m way older than them.
  • New friends. I am grateful for my new friends in the team. Kenny, Pastor Mark, his wife Rojo and baby Josiah, Anna and Greg; I’m blessed to have met and am blessed by the opportunity to work with you guys.
  • Last but not least, the FOOD! Bario rice is the best! I don’t remember having so much rice in my life but I’m thankful that I got to enjoy this wonderful gift of God to the Kelabits. Plus we had a lot of wild boar cos’ it was the season for wild boars. Really good stuff! Thank you Auntie Anne, Auntie Choo and Auntie Sondra for cooking every day for us. And thank you to all the sinaks & tepuks who cooked such delicious meals for all of us at the camp. You guys are the best!
Remembering the Bario Revival

Remembering the Bario Revival

I guess that’s all I have to share about my experience. There’s a lot more to talk about but I guess you’ll have to ask me in person if you get the chance. I leave you with a tagline that I learnt from the kids that was a popular catchphrase that week. Till next time.

Kecemerlangan datang dari otak yang cergas & hati yang mantap.

Leave a Reply

