Red Dead Redemption (Video Game Review)

Red Dead Redemption

Red Dead Redemption

To be honest, I never really planned to get Rockstar Games’ latest open world epic, Red Dead Redemption but I ended up getting it any way after my colleague Jason talked about it and I managed to catch some videos over YouTube on my phone. Boy, am I glad I picked up a copy of the game last week because it’s a real fun game with lots to do and I must say that I like it a lot more than GTA IV.

What I like most about RDR is the fact that there’s always something happening and there’s always something to do in the game. I could be galloping across the desert and I’ll stumble upon a random robbery and the game world is alive with people & happenings. Hang around or ride around enough and you’ll more often than not stumble upon something to do.

The game’s good fun and it has a a great sound track to boot. I haven’t played any of the multi-player yet but so far I’m content to wander the single-player campaign looking out for further adventures for John Marston in a fictional piece of the wild, wild west.

Unfortunately the game has a tonne of glitches. The biggest annoyance in the R3 version of the game that I have is the fact that most of the mini-games are broken because there’s a bug in which the X and O buttons are flipped. In case some of you don’t know, PS3 games in Asia use the O button as the standard OK button whilst American PS3 games use X as OK. It’s annoying cos’ the game keeps mixing up both buttons and in a lot of instances hitting X in a mini-game brings up the quit mini-game screen. I’ve already contacted Rockstar Games on this and they just replied me that they are aware of the issue but so far nothing has been issued out yet about a fix. *sighs*

Oh well, having said that the game’s a great one and I’ve not spent this much fun time on a game in a long while. Compared to Final Fantasy XIII, RDR is a whole lot more fun. I’m still stuck in Chapter 11 in Final Fantasy and am not really keen on picking up that game to progress at the moment; heh.

I give Red Dead Redemption a fun 4 out of 5. I would’ve given it 5 stars if it weren’t for the X-O flip bug. Dear Rockstar please fix it a.s.a.p.

2 thoughts on “Red Dead Redemption (Video Game Review)

    • Rockstar Support replied me and said they are aware of the bug and is working to fix it. It occurs on Region 3 PS3s. I hope they can fix it up soon.

Leave a Reply

