3 Things to Think About When Getting Insured

Insurance is Like a Safety Net

Insurance is Like a Safety Net

I know this is kinda off topic from the stuff I usually write about but I suppose since this is my blog I’m allowed to write whatever I want! Anyways, this post sparked off because a friend I care for lots is having a really bad experience with an insurance claim with Prudential. I’m doing what I can to help and it’s just frustrating to know that insurance can be a tricky thing to navigate especially when most of us depend on our agents to help us through.

In an industry that’s meant to help people it’s disheartening to discover there are some out there who are out to make a quick buck without giving thought to the lives that they are affecting. *Sighs*

Anyways, all this insurance stuff  prompted me to think about how I go about getting insurance and sharing some things that I have come to learn in the last few years or so with the help of my own agent. Here are 3 simple tips:

  1. Insurance is protection. Plain & simple. Put money into it but don’t expect to ever get anything out of it as an investment. Set other funds aside if you want to invest.
  2. Always buy your plan from someone you know and trust. I have 3 policies on me now, 2 with people I really know, one with a person whom I don’t know too well in church.
  3. Don’t overbuy insurance, one of my good friends who used to be in industry told me that one of the best things to do is to try to keep the premium for as low as possible and do what you can to max out on protection; that way the pay out would really help in times of need.

Why not take some time this week to review what coverage you have? It always pays to understand your insurance plan and give your agent something to do this weekend other than just selling plans to people. Heh.

Leave a Reply

