Trust & Obey

Trust and obey
For there’s no other way
To be happy in Jesus
But to trust and obey

I never truly understood the words of that glorious hymn until lately and now that I understand it, it makes so much sense.

In wanting my own way I’ve found that I unknowingly “warred” against God in countless occasions. Of late I’ve been learning to surrender more to God and to trust Him in the things that I feel so afraid to lose control of. In that trust there’s also a need for obedience too. Trusting God is one thing but obeying Him can be a toughie as obeying God often means that we do things contrary to our natural desire for self-preservation and our self-centredness.

I’m thankful that God’s helping me figure out more stuff as each day passes and it feels more right to not “war” with God anymore. I realise the reason why I feel weary a lot of times is because I struggle to keep control of my life when He is trying to take control. The idea of God being in control of my life is scary I guess but that just goes to show how much more I have to learn to trust Him. But learning I am. And I know that’s definitely the reason why I don’t feel so weary in my spirit in recent weeks.

Jesus’ words make more sense now that it did before and I leave you guys with 2 verses from Our Daily Bread that finally “clicked” in me this morning.

If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it.

4 thoughts on “Trust & Obey

Leave a Reply

