Always Look at the Bright Side of Your Life

The Bright Side of Life

The Bright Side of Life

Life. Life just happens and with it comes good stuff and sometimes bad stuff. The bad stuff can seem like it outweighs the good stuff sometimes but instead of getting all flustered and foul over it; I’ve been learning how to look at things differently rather than harping on it. Read on if you’re interested, just go watch a YouTube video or something.

Here are 3 real-world examples of things that have gone wrong or that are not going so well recently in my life and how I’m learning to look at things differently so that I can be more upbeat about life:

  1. The office air-cond breakdown
    It’s been about a month since the air-cond broke down in my office and all of us have been temporarily relegated to the 2nd floor and everyone’s scattered in makeshift workstations and sharing desks. Now, one could complain about the whole uncomfortable setting but I chose to enjoy it and because we were all temporarily seated I found myself sitting with colleagues whom I did not know very well previously. And guess what? I now have new friends whom I’ve gotten to know much better compared to before.The bright side? New friends of course! And the fact that we shift back to our regular places today. It was fun while it lasted!
  2. Getting sick the day after my birthday
    This was sucky and of course I felt down but the bright side was that I got to catch up on a lot of rest and at the same thing keeping the virus at home was a good thing cos’ there were enough bugs going around the office that got many people sick. One less was better. At the same time I managed to actually start on Final Fantasy XIII in my downtime which was great cos’ time for myself is quite a luxury these days. Thank God for the Internet cos’ even when I was out I could still monitor emails and work too. The end result? I recovered much better and even tho’ I’m coughing some still; it’d’ve been a lot worse without the 2 days MC that I had to take.The bright side? Lotsa rest, better recovery, Final Fantasy XIII and the Internet!
  3. Being single for the longest time EVER
    I’m the same as anyone else. I wanna get married one day. Have kids. Get a nice car and the nice house with picket fences and all the what nots. It’s tough being single when you just wanna share your life with someone the older you get but the bright side of it is that I have a lot of freedom to pursue many things in life. I’m still doing my indie record label on the side; I’ve just started getting involved in some podcasts on video games and I’ve been given the privilege of being involved in people’s lives in the cell ministry in my church. I think it’d be much tougher for me to do all these things if I were attached and right now I’m learning to balance these things out so that when that day comes; I guess I’ll have a life that is so much more fuller and a girlfriend/wife one day would be the icing that makes life a whole lot sweeter!The bright side? Freedom to live out life and to better myself before getting attached!

Well, that’s all from mua. I hope you get a good idea about what I’m talking about. Looking at life with different coloured glasses doesn’t change the situation but it certainly makes life a lot better on the whole and will definitely help you get through the tough spots in your own life. Life’s about seasons; and seasons come and go but what you become once these seasons pass remain in you. Do you get bitter? Or do you come out of it better? Something to think about la.

I leave all of you with a lil’ passage from my all-time fav book that reminds me that life’s about seasons and there’s always a time for everything. Enjoy…

There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under heaven:
a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain,
a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.
Ecc 3:1-8
2 thoughts on “Always Look at the Bright Side of Your Life

Leave a Reply

