The 2012 Adventure

Mua ha ha ha ha ha! My brother and I really wanted to watch 2012 yesterday and so at close to 2pm we decided to head out and give it a shot. I knew that it’d be difficult as my colleagues had already told me that they couldn’t get tickets last Friday but I figured that it’d be nice to spend some time with my brother even if we didn’t get to watch the movie. Oh! We did I mention we sorta dragged my brother’s girlfriend along as well? And so the 3 of us began our 2012 adventure that’d take us through the whole of Saturday afternoon and night.

First stop: Berjaya Times Square
We parked at Starhill to save on parking and walked all the way to Berjaya Times Square (good exercise!) even though it looked like it’d rain (thankfully it didn’t). We hit BTS at around 2-something and headed straight for the cinema. After lining up for almost half-an-hour we discovered that tickets were sold out all the way till midnight! Gyaaaaah! Fine. There’d be no tickets to be found here so we had lunch at Marrybrown (which was just next door to the cinema) and just walked around; checking out the toy stores that litter the higher regions of Berjaya Times Square. I hit Borders & Video Ezy and almost made some purchases but my common sense kicked in and I didn’t buy anything in the end.

Marrybrown! A favourite of mine!

Marrybrown! A favourite of mine!

Chicken? Or Chicken?

Chicken? Or Chicken?

Second stop: Sg Wang Plaza
It was rainy yesterday so we stopped by here anyways and I stopped by some of the video game stores there to check on Bioware’s latest RPG epic “Dragon Age: Origins”. I didn’t look around too much and one of the shops offered me a copy for RM170. I gave my regular game store a call and found that I could get it at a similar price so didn’t see the point of buying the game at Sg Wang cos’ I wouldn’t have saved on anything anyways. We left Sg Wang Plaza empty handed on purchases but we did manage to treat ourselves to some durian ice-cream and keropok so going there wasn’t a total bust. Keh keh.

Third stop: Galaxy Ampang
After spending a full day in the Bukit Bintang area we were still undeterred and so we headed in the rain to Galaxy Ampang to give 2012 one more go! MBO cinemas are usually empty and even though they’re not that great, a cinema’s a cinema so we figured we’d have a good chance here. We got there at close to 7.30pm and lo and behold tickets were pretty much sold out too! The only available shows were for 11.30pm and midnite. We were super tired and hungry by that time.

Final stop: Jang Su Chon Korean BBQ Restaurant
Ah! This was definitely the highlight of the night. We got directions from Eric which were wrong but eventually found the place. Koreans frequent the place and the pricing was just nice. Our bill would have come up to just RM50++ if I hadn’t forgotten that Korean places always came with servings of vegetables, kim chi and other assorted stuff. Needless to say, we were quite stuffed last night. But I suppose all that walking around the whole of the Bukit Bintang area would have compensated for the food we consumed last night.

Jang Su Chon Korean BBQ!!!

Jang Su Chon Korean BBQ!!!

A Korean BBQ feast!

A Korean BBQ feast!

Yummy vege... which we didn't finish by the way...

Yummy vege... which we didn't finish by the way...

Stone riiiiiice with pork.

Stone riiiiiice with pork.

Seafood & kim chi pancake.

Seafood & kim chi pancake.

The remnants of the BBQed spicy chicken ribs & "3 pig" pork slices just before we finished dinner.

The remnants of the BBQed spicy chicken ribs & "3 pig" pork slices just before we finished dinner.

We didn’t get to watch 2012 but it certainly wasn’t the end of the world for us yesterday. Good times. Good times. For those of you who’d be interested to give Jang Su Chon a try here’s the address:

Jang Su Chon Korean BBQ Restaurant
8 Jln Sulaiman, Ampang.
Tel: 03 4252 0790
Mobile: 012 941 1802

Check back soon for the location. I’ve gotta get ready for church now so I’ll look it up on Google Maps later.

Cheerios!

4 thoughts on “The 2012 Adventure

    • Yep. Parking at Star Hill is per entry. RM5 if I remember correctly. You just gotta walk further to get to other places la. Good exercise for some of us. Keh keh. 😛

Leave a Reply

