Words of Comfort

I was just talking to God today as I read the Bible and it dawned upon me that while I enjoy gleaning insights about myself and the world around me from it; the number one reason why I read the Word is to get comfort from it. Comfort is the one thing that I constantly look for when I read the Word and I guess it’s probably my way of finding refuge in God as I continue to work out my faith daily.

It is so not easy to live out my faith because everything in this world is out to snuff out whatever that is good in us. For every selfless act there are 10 more situations where you feel stupid for not looking out for your own interests. It’s tough but I always believe that it’s important to live life differently or we’ll end up perpetuating the very values that make our world what it is today.

How do I continue to wanna live life differently? Here’s how I do it.

The best part of my day is always when I spend time in reflection and in earnest prayer. It may seem stupid to some of you but I would encourage you guys to give it a try to set aside quality time with God. The more life happens the more we’ll discover that we don’t have all the answers and that we are dependent on Him in all things. It is pure arrogance to think that we are the masters of our fate; charting a course through the waters of life to go wherever we please. We’ve been given a great gift in our free-will & choice and how we use that gift determines whether or lives are pleasing to Him or not. That’s what matters at the end of the day; that we please the one who created us and to know that whatever it is we’re going through that there is always hope in Him. Always. By spending time with Him daily I get encouragement but more importantly it enables me to focus and realign myself so that I can stay on target on many things in life. It might seem difficult at first to maintain this but chug through and you’ll find that what was once difficult at first would transform and become an awesome time with Him.

God is the "Top Dog" who can comfort us all the time. *grins*

God is the "Top Dog" who can comfort us all the time. *grins*

Pick up the Bible today and find a little comfort in its words for yourself and who knows maybe you’ll find some answers about life in there too. The book of Psalms is a great place to start. There are 150 great chapters you can choose from and there’s something for everyone there. For those of you who are going through the blackest of nights. Here’s a word of comfort from the Bible that I hope will help you see the breaking of dawn in your struggles.

Why are you downcast, O my soul?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
for I will yet praise Him,
my Saviour and my God.

Have a good one today guys.

Leave a Reply

