Less Words. More Action.

Oh wow.

The following really spoke to me this morning as I did my quiet time and makes me feel better about some things that bothered me last night after a “friendly” debate about gender differences at Pappa Rich after Leaders Meeting last night. I hope what I plucked out of today’s Our Daily Bread reading inspires you guys to keep on sowing and watering the seeds in your life that have been planted. It takes a lot of hard knocks & painful working through to be who we are today so I hope all of ya put your chin ups to keep chugging at it.

Galatians 6:7-10
Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. The one who sows to please his sinful nature, from that nature will reap destruction; the one who sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life. Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.

I read a fable about a man who was browsing in a store when he made the shocking discovery that God was behind a sales counter. So the man walked over and asked, “What are You selling?” God replied, “What does your heart desire?” The man said, “I want happiness, peace of mind, and freedom from fear . . . for me and the whole world.” God smiled and said, “I don’t sell fruit here. Only seeds.”

In Galatians 6, Paul stressed the importance of sowing seeds of God-honouring behaviour, for “whatever a man sows, that he will also reap” (v.7). We can’t expect to experience the fruit of God’s blessings if we don’t recognise the importance of doing our part.

It helps to follow the example of others who have sown good seed. Author Samuel Shoemaker said that a good example can either inspire us or cause us to say, “Oh yes, he (or she) is like that. He is not troubled by temper or nerves or impatience or worry as I am; he is just a happier temperament.” Shoemaker continued, “It may not occur to us that perhaps he had to fight for his serenity, and that we might win if we would do the same.”

Are you weary of the way you are? Ask God for His help and begin sowing seeds of new actions and responses today. In due season the Spirit will give the increase.  — Joanie Yoder

We’re always sowing seeds in life
By everything we do and say,
So let’s make sure the fruit we reap
Comes from the good we do each day. —Hess

The seeds we sow today determine the kind of fruit we’ll reap tomorrow.

It’s easy to say that someone is the way they are because he or she is born that way and today’s devotional reading  encouraged me to know that I am the way I am because of a lot of hard work and guidance from God on top of the things that already come natural to me. I needed to hear that especially after last night where it felt as if I was a convenient target just because I was the only single guy at the table plus I was a little vocal about some stuff. Oh well, I guess if you have an opinion about stuff it doesn’t always sit well with other people although I really think I wasn’t given the chance to fully explain my views.

I really dislike arguments and debates. They don’t do anything but go round & round with the promise of an empty victory by proving a point. What difference does proving a point make if we do not do something about resolving the issues? Talk is cheap and I’d much prefer to work on something rather than talk about it. I’m trying my best to be more pro-active about stuff in my life especially when it comes to making changes to myself. I have learnt more to shut up and do rather than saying before doing. Change can best be seen in action rather than words right?

Actions speak louder.

Actions speak far louder than words.

Just a thought to think about today. In the meantime I’m just gonna keep sowing those seeds so that I’ll reap the fruit in good time. Wish my luck & God-speed. 🙂

One thought on “Less Words. More Action.

  1. We need to argue and discuss and talk. Only then can we really know what the other side meant. Otherwise you’re just glossing over things and ASS-U-ME-ing that you and the other person are in agreement.

Leave a Reply

