Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots

MGS4

MGS4

It’s CNY break and my company’s shut for the week. I finally got started on MGS4 a couple of weeks ago and finished it just a few hours ago this afternoon. The game’s great but somehow all the cut scenes (stunning as they are) really bored me. Too much exposition and talking. The last few cut-scenes were horrendous. Talk, talk and talk. Ha ha!

Anyways, on the whole the game-play itself is pure Metal Gear with a lot of new touches. Octo Camo is way cool and you can actually run & gun in this game; ditching the stealth mechanics altogether. Loads of weapons and I think it’s great that the game doesn’t take itself too seriously. The graphics are gorgeous with so many effects that it’s hard to believe that it’s a video game and not a 3D-animated flick.

The best thing for me right now is that I can do repeat play-throughs without having to sit through the cut scenes now. There’s loads to unlock and now that I’ve gotten the hang of being stealthy again I’m gonna have a blast staying out of the way of the guards instead of instinctively shooting them.

The gaming press have given this game great reviews but I find myself unable to give this one 5 stars because of the unnecessary length of the cut-scenes. But then again Metal Gear games have always been more movie-like than video game. If you’re a Solid Snake fan this is one game that you won’t want to miss – a fitting end to the Solid Snake Saga by Hideo Kojima & company.

Rating: 4 Stars (out of 5)

Leave a Reply

